7:30pm, Saturday, May 22nd, 2021

GRIEG Peer Gynt Suite No.1
PROKOFIEV Piano Concerto No.3


TCHAIKOVSKY Symphony No. 4

Yuanfan Yang Piano
Marcio da Silva Conductor

Christ Church – St Leonards-on-Sea

Tickets: £12.50 – £22.50 (Students/Under 18: Free Entry)

In another collaboration with the Hastings International Piano Concerto Competition, the Hastings Philharmonic Orchestra will bring you Yuanfan Yang, the 2019 British prize winner, performing Prokofiev’s Piano Concerto No. 3.

Completed in 1921 (using sketches begun in 1913) this crisp and vivacious concerto was premiered with Prokofiev himself as the soloist. It is the third of five piano concertos written by the composer and is perhaps the most popular, demonstrating Prokofiev’s inventive prowess in punctuating lyrical passages with witty dissonances. Unlike the piano concertos of his Romantic forbears, Prokofiev does not just use the orchestra as a subsidiary accompaniment; instead he maintains a balanced partnership between the soloist and the orchestra, with the latter playing a very active part in the work.

This promises to be a passionate and rousing concert, full of rich melodies, and dramatic and exciting musical highpoints.

Running Time:

Approx. 1 hour 50 minutes,
including 20 minute interval

 Book Now Ticket